Recent announcements from:

Posted on August 18, 2010


Intel and Micron are delivering sample quantities of NAND devices with 3-bits-per-cell (3bpc) flash memory using 25-nanometer process technology. 3bpc NAND technology is sometimes referred to as triple-level cell (TLC).

Samsung and Anobit have partnered to produce a Secure Digital (SD) controller card that incorporates Anobit's Memory Signal Processing (MSP) technology with Samsung's 3-bit, 30-nanometer NAND technology. The SK6630 controller is co-designed and manufactured by Sky Medi.

Pliant Technology's Lightning family of Enterprise Flash Drives (EFDs) have been qualified with LSI's CTS2600 line of storage controllers and enclosures, which support 6Gbps SAS. Pliant also joined the LSI Channel Partner Alliance Program.

Avere Systems has secured $17 million in Series B funding, bringing total investment in the company to $32 million. The funding was led by Tenaya Capital, and also included original investors Menlo Ventures and Norwest Venture Partners.
Related articles from InfoStor:
Avere adds SSDs to tiered NAS appliances
Avere introduces tiered NAS

Solid-state disk (SSD) specialist Texas Memory Systems has joined The Linux Foundation to ensure that its PCI-e SSDs are supported in the Linux kernel.

Semiconductor market research firm Objective Analysis recently published the Solid State Disk Market Outlook 2010 report. Objective Analysis predicts that in 2015 almost 40 million SSDs will ship, accounting for more than $7 billion in revenues.

DDN announced a partnership with cloud storage platform provider Mezeo involving DDN's Web Object Scaler.

StoredIQ announced that its Intelligent Information Management (IIM) Platform is interoperable with the Microsoft File Classification Infrastructure (FCI) technology included in Windows Server 2008 R2.

The Fibre Channel Industry Association (FCIA) announced its newly elected board of directors for 2010/2011. They include chairman Skip Jones (QLogic), vice chairman/treasurer Tom Hammond-Doel (LSI) and secretary Greg McSorley (Amphenol). Members at large include Anthony Faustini (Cisco), Sean Fitzpatrick (HP), Rick Joos (NetApp), Mark Jones (Emulex), Jay Neer (Molex) and Steven Wilson (Brocade).

Comment and Contribute
(Maximum characters: 1200). You have
characters left.

InfoStor Article Categories:

SAN - Storage Area Network   Disk Arrays
NAS - Network Attached Storage   Storage Blogs
Storage Management   Archived Issues
Backup and Recovery   Data Storage Archives