Twitter is a great place to share your thoughts with the world, debate random people, and stay abreast of current events and trends. If you’re anything like the rest of us, you could notice that you have less energy than usual.
The fact that Twitter is a divisive and antagonistic community is well-known. Since Donald Trump’s election, Twitter has become a central place for people to discuss politics, current events, and pop culture with strangers. It’s a fantastic venue to hear your voice, but active participation may drain your reserves.
If you’re not enjoying your time on Twitter, deleting your account is the best choice. Maybe you’re sick of all the drama in Spaces, or you’re nervous about what the site’s new owner, Elon Musk, might do to it. You’re also likely looking for a clean slate and a new beginning. If you have had enough of Twitter for good, you can permanently delete your account by following these instructions.
Deleting Your Twitter Account: What Should You Know
If you’ve decided to remove your Twitter account, follow these steps:
Your Twitter account can be disabled from any connected device. Deleting your Twitter account requires a username and password, but registration is not required.
A Twitter which is deactivated and with no activity for 30 days will be deleted along with all Tweets. They will also remove the associated username. Even if you don’t log in to Twitter for 30 days after deactivating it, the service will erase your account automatically. When your Twitter account is deleted permanently, all of your past Tweets are also removed from the service.
How To Delete Your Twitter Account – Overview
Twitter’s user interaction is unlike anything else in the social media world. Before permanently deactivating your Twitter account, you must first put it on hold. All of your Tweets will remain even if you deactivate your account. In its place, it will make your Tweets private and stop any new users from following you.
Choose “Deactivate my account” from the settings menu to complete the process. Click “Deactivate” again when prompted if you’re sure. Your account will be terminated immediately upon deactivation. There will be a 30-day grace period following this point, during which you can change your mind before the decision is finalized.
A Step-By-Step Guide To Permanently Deactivate Your Twitter Account In Under Three Minutes
Don’t fret if you’ve finally decided to give up on Twitter for good. Deleting your Twitter account permanently is as easy as 1-2-3!
1) Sign in with your credentials.
2) Click the ‘More’ option on the left side of the navigation menu.
3) It will open a new menu. In the new drop-down menu, select “Settings and Privacy.”
4) Then go to the “Your account” page and click the “Deactivate your account” button, which will be available at the bottom.
5) Click on the DEACTIVATE button.
6) You have to confirm your password once again and then click on the DEACTIVATE button.
Your account will be terminated immediately upon deactivation. There will be a 30-day grace period following this point, during which you can change your mind before the decision is finalized.
Also Read: Twitter Testing “Edit Tweet” Feature For Twitter Blue Customers
Deleting My Twitter Account Takeaway!
One of life’s few great pleasures is deleting your Twitter account and immediately and profoundly relieving all the stress and anxiety that it has been causing. If that’s what you’re thinking about doing, we hope this guide was helpful!
It will soon become clear that you finally had enough of the turmoil and consequently deleted your Twitter account for good. You’ll convince yourself that this choice will lead to better days in the future. If you have any questions or concerns regarding closing your Twitter account, please let us know in the comments box below, and we will try our best to address them.
Frequently Asked Questions
1) Can I delete my Twitter account and make a new one with the same email?
A) You can’t go back in time and retrieve your old Tweets or reactivate your old Twitter account. After the 30-day deactivation period ends, other Twitter accounts can register the username you chose for your previous Twitter account.
2) How long does it take for a Twitter account to be deleted?
A) A Twitter which is deactivated and with no activity for 30 days will be deleted along with all Tweets. The associated username will also be removed. Even if you don’t log in to Twitter for 30 days after deactivating it, the service will erase your account automatically. When your Twitter account is deleted permanently, all of your past Tweets are also removed from the service.
3) Is deactivating Twitter the same as deleting?
A) It must first be deactivated before permanently deleting your Twitter account. Over 30 days, inactivity is measured. A dormant account will be removed along with the corresponding username after 30 days.